DEM Certification and Licensure By State

Direct-Entry Midwifery Licensure and Certification Requirements by state, including Direct-Entry Midwifery Regulatory Agency Contact Information and NCM's permission to provide education in these jurisdictions can be found here.

NCM's ASM program satisfies NARM's clinical requirements for CPM and MEAC's Essential Competencies for Midwives. All states have state-specific licensure requirements that NCM may not satisfy. Many states conform to NARM and MEAC requirements, but some have additional clinical, academic, and/or other requirements beyond the basic ASM minimum requirements. In many cases, students can complete additional required clinical experiences for their state while enrolled at NCM so that the state's required clinical experiences are reflected on the student's official transcript. NCM does not know the exact and changing requirements for licensure of each state. For this reason, prior to enrolling in NCM's program, it is the student's responsibility to contact the state's regulatory agency directly for licensure requirements. The contact information is listed in the table below; if the state or jurisdiction in which you reside is not listed, please contact NCM. NCM must be approved or exempt from licensure as an institution of higher education in every jurisdiction in which it enrolls a student. NCM is happy to reach out to jurisdictions to apply for permission/exemption.

(575) 758-8914

1041 Reed St Suite C, Taos, NM 87571, USA

Institutional Accreditation Period: 06/30/2016 – 06/30/2021

©2020 National College of Midwifery